A Touch of Love, by Cami Checketts

A Touch of LoveCami has written A Touch of Love for the Summer in Snow Valley anthology. I love this story! It’s very hard to write characters with speech impediments or accents, but Cami has done it beautifully.

Synopsis
Annie Stirland has endured a lifetime of teasing, embarrassment, and isolation due to her speech impediment. When irresistible cowboy, Luke Wilson, seems to be falling for her, she’s certain he’s too good to be true. His ex-girlfriend reappears and confirms her fears, but Luke isn’t ready to give Annie up.

Excerpt
“Do you ever write down what you’re thinking?”

Annie’s eyebrows rose. Luke loved the way she did that.

“Would you write for me? What you’re thinking?”

She shrugged her shapely shoulders and studied him for a few seconds before pulling out a notepad. She wrote for a few seconds then handed it to him.

I’m thinking that this cowboy is a nice guy who’s uncomfortable with my silence.

“I guess you got me there. I don’t really talk too much, usually just swear at the cattle. So I’m not a nice guy at all.”

She took the pad back, wrote, and handed it to him again.

You’re definitely a nice guy. I knew that when you bought the thoughtful gift for your sister. Why do you want to take me to dinner? Feeling bad for the new girl in town?

He grinned. “Nope. Feeling intrigued by the new girl in town and wanting to get to know her better.” He handed the pad back to her.

You don’t have the time to get to know me better, it would take hours for me to get anything out with my stutter.

He laughed. “Sweetheart, I’ve got the time and the desire to get to know you better. I really do love the sound of your voice, but if you’re more comfortable we could communicate like this.”

Her grin widened. How about we give it a few days? I don’t go to dinner with men I don’t know.

“How about I come back tomorrow and see you so you don’t have to go to dinner with a man you don’t know?” He paused. “Dang. Tomorrow we’re checking the range cows. Friday?”

She looked dubious.

“I’d like an appointment Friday at five for…” He looked over the list of options. “A foot zone. If you’re available, I’d like to take you to dinner after.”

She wrote quickly. Reading your feet will definitely help me get to know you. Are you sure you’re ready for that kind of disclosure?

A surprised laugh escaped him. “You can tell stuff about me from rubbing my feet?”

She pointed at the word reading.

Reading my feet?”

She nodded, looking very smug.

“Okay. I have nothing to hide. You’re sure we can’t go to dinner tonight?”

She waved at him.

Luke inclined his head. Annie was a challenge. He liked her more each minute.Cami

About Cami
Cami Checketts is married and the proud mother of four future WWF champions. Sometimes between being a human horse, cleaning up magic potions, and driving boys to lacrosse practice, she gets the chance to write fiction. Cami and her family live in the beautiful Cache Valley of Northern Utah. During the two months of the year it isn’t snowing, she enjoys swimming, hiking, biking, running, and water-skiing.

Fun Facts
Cami is training for her third marathon and is hoping being over forty and in the hefty honey’s division (the race organizers call it something nice like Filly division) means she’ll finally win something. Cami is much too obsessed with her four boys and loves watching them play lacrosse. From her 6’3″ 16-year-old defender to her 3’2″ 4-year-old goalie, she cheers, drives hours to practice and games, bakes cookies for all the teams, and thinks lax Momma is the best title in the world.

Visit Cami’s Website for more info.

And don’t forget, Summer in Snow Valley is available for pre-order for only $0.99!

Summer In Snow Valley Blog Tour Banner fixed

Leave a Reply

